Pepperell election features multiple open positions

Select Board, Planning Board and more will have spots available to fill in April


PEPPERELL — The annual town election is set for April 26 and those looking to join town government have plenty of political options.

The Town Clerk’s office has notified residents that nomination papers are available to run in this year’s election. Papers will be available for pickup until March 5 at noon. Residents must have fifty certified voter’s signatures on nomination papers to qualify to run. Nomination papers are due before March 8 at 4 p.m.

Nine town boards have members with terms expiring in April, some of them are chairs of certain boards. They include Select Board Chair William Greathead, Recreation Commission Chair Timothy Doyle, North Middlesex Regional School Committee Chair Craig Hansen and Board of Health Chair Margie LaFleur. All of those spots are for three-year terms.

Other boards with three-year term spots available include the Board of Assessors with member Maureen Bolger, the North Middlesex Regional School Committee with member David Carney and the Board of Public Works with member George Clark. The Lawrence Library Board of Trustees have two members with three-year terms expiring in April: Carol Case and Ramona Reed.

Other boards have openings with varying term lengths. The Board of Health, for instance, has a spot for a one-year term. The spot is currently occupied by Renee D’Argento, who was appointed to the board last September after then-member Grover Pillsbury announced his resignation last June.

The Planning Board and the Board of the Housing Authority both have positions for five-year terms available to run for. The Housing Authority position is currently occupied by Irene Leddy while the Planning Board spot is currently occupied by Charles Walkovich.

The Planning Board has another spot open for the April election, this being a four-year term currently occupied by Joyce Marrow. The Recreation Commission, meanwhile, has a two-year term currently occupied by Lynne Archambault.

According to the Town Clerk’s Office, only two people have pulled papers to run in the April election: Irene Leddy looking to run to retain her seat on the Board of the Housing Authority, and Lisa Ferolito looking to run for the Select Board. Ferolito is a former chair of the Select Board who resigned last August after having disagreements with Town Administrator Andrew MacLean.