SHIRLEY – With no contested races in the annual Town Election until late in the game, when Bryan Dumont announced a recently-launched write-in campaign for selectman earlier this month, incumbent Debra Flagg on Tuesday handily won another three-year term on the three-member board.

Dumont was an election late-comer but by no means a political newcomer, having served on several committees as a volunteer over a period of several years.

Since stepping down, he has been a vocal critic of current and past Boards of Selectmen and has frequently taken issue with administrative issues, including the firing of town employees.

Running as a write-in candidate for selectman, Dumont strongly criticized his opponent in his e-mailed campaign announcement, calling her dishonest, a charge she unequivocally rejected.

In a long phone interview with the Nashoba Valley Voice, Flagg fired back, stating she has always been honest and as a selectman seeks to be transparent. In closing, she said her strongest suit since taking office has been to “clean up” the town, which she continues to do, with and without volunteer help.

She vowed to continue her downtown cleanup campaign, which she still considers important, and cited that pledge as a key reason for running again.

Voters apparently agreed. Flagg won back her seat with 501 votes.

Dumont received 41 write-in votes.

A total of 563 registered voters, or about 13%, of town’s 4,182 registered voters cast ballots.

There were also three other write-ins and 116 blank ballots cast.

For Board of Assessors, Richard Rettberg won the three-year term with 444 votes.

Daniel Taylor won a three-year seat on the Board of Health with 455 votes.

Incumbent Constable James Mickel easily won back his position with 335 votes. Mickel is a former Shirley police officer who retired early several years ago after being shot in the line of duty. The position is for three years.

Challenger Patricia Krauchune, who has repeatedly bid for the job, garnered 168 votes.

For Library Trustees, Judy Stanislaw and Charles Waite, Jr. were ushered back in, with 482 votes and 413 votes, respectively. Each seat is for three years.

For Planning Board, Barbara Yocum won back her 5-year post, with 451 votes.

Another Planning Board position – a three-year seat — also went to the incumbent, Thomas Satriale, who won with 426 votes, while Bonnie Lawrence received 408 votes for the two-year associate seat.

Longtime Recreation Commissioner Linda Cournoyer retained her position for another three years with 471 votes.

For the one year Recreation Commission seat, Brad Price won with 432 votes.

Joyce Reischutz won another three-year term on the Ayer Shirley Regional School Committee with 457 votes. One of three Shirley representatives on the six member board, Reischutz is a long time board member who previously served on the Shirley School Committee before the region was formed.

For Sewer Commission, Paul Wilson won another three-year term, with 469 votes.

With three War Memorial Trustee positions open, two for veterans and one for a non-veteran, Matthew Callahan garnered 105 write-in votes to win the three year veteran’s seat.

Tristum Darby won the other veteran’s seat, a one year position, with 454 votes.

The non-veteran’s seat went to Harold Smith, who won the three-year term with 459 votes.