WESTFORD — The Nashoba Valley Technical High School Class of 2019 — 165 strong — bid a fond farewell to their home away from home for the last four years during a bright and sunny graduation ceremony on Saturday morning, June 1.

Commencement speaker U.S. Rep. Lori Trahan, told the graduates that they had already “acquired the skills necessary to be competitive in the economy and to build a successful life” by making the decision four years ago to attend a technical high school.

“It gives you an incredible advantage,” said Trahan, a Lowell native and Westford resident who won a competitive election for the right to represent the Third District of Massachusetts in Congress.

“Our economy is in desperate need of the skills you possess,” she added. “Each of you is equipped to be the best you can be.”

The valedictorian of the Class of 2019 is Jason Gendron, a Dracut resident who, just days before receiving his diploma and technical certificate in Robotics & Automation from Nashoba Tech, graduated from Middlesex Community College with an Associate’s degree in Information Technology and Cybersecurity. A Dean’s List student at MCC, Jason will go on to the Honors Program at the University of Massachusetts Lowell.

List of local graduates

AYER — Eric Boudreau, Alexander Corbett, Thomas Doty, Jake Driscoll, Sierra Farms, John Finlay, Madison Gerace, Stephen Hamel, Jordan LeBel, Riley Meusel, Eli Norton, Kaylin Patterson-Soar, Jordan Weatherwalks, Crystal Woodward.

DUNSTABLE — Dylan MacCallum, Maxwell Wright.

GROTON — Peter Braudis, Krista Chartrand, Kylie Hilberg, Aidan Luth, Jake Walker.

PEPPERELL —Brooke Baker, Taylor Burgess, Madelyn Campano, Kylen Campbell, Trinity Dunaway, Rylie Dupuis, Delaney Fallon, Kayla Filmore, Gary Fortunato, Jordan Hasbrouck, James Kimball, Michael Levesque, Kaitlyn May, Taylor McLellan, Samuel Poston, Baylie Rajaniemi, Brandon Reis, Joshua Roberts, Eliott Searle, Elio Sgrosso, Olivia Spoth, Savannah Sylvester, Kaylee Tanguay, Anthony Vasapolli, Kaitlyn Winsper, Sabrina Wojnar.

SHIRLEY — Dylan Bourassa, Logan Crowell, Jillian Farrar, Nicholas Howard Lance LaVigueur, Luke McKenna, Cameron McPherson, Ryan O’Connell, Kyle Ripley, Eryn Tormey, Matthew Venti, Alexander Wilson.

TOWNSEND — Gabriella Agliata, Preston Andrews, Britney Apostolakes, Sarah Assimakopoulos, Elizabeth Baldwin, Jonathan Baldwin, Jarrod Beirholm, Tyler Bousquet, Cameron Cutrona, Amanda Fales, Cameron Fess, Sydney Fournier, Anthony Giffen, Cassandra Girard Ashley Hanlon, Jacob Harris, Casey Johnson, Brendon Junod, Marc Kelly, Aliyk Krauss, James Mahoney, Charles McGarigle, Charles Myers, Anthony Nogueira, Alex Ortiz, Colton Ranger, Michelle Rodgers, Sam Salamone, Bryan Sposato, Ryan Whelpley.