No contests in Ayer election

By Jon Bishop

AYER — Town elections, held April 27, are done. There are some new faces, but there were no contested races.

It was a slow day, said Paul Boisseau, the warden. There weren’t any peak hours, either. Most people filtered in and out throughout the day, he said.

“There’s no challenges,” he said, also noting that there were no state ballot questions. “It makes it very slow.”

“That’s why it’s so low,” he added.

As of 4:40 p.m., Precinct 1 had 98 ballots cast. Precinct 2 had 55.

Overall, 209 of 4,800 (4.3 percent) registered voters participated.

“I’m grateful for the dedicated election workers who still came and sat diligently waiting to tally the votes,” said Susan Copeland, the town clerk and tax collector, via email. “Now we can focus on the upcoming Town Meeting (on May 11).”

Gary Luca won re-election to the Board of Selectmen, and he said he was happy he got three more years. He earned 166 votes. There were 37 blanks and six (scatterings) write-ins.

“I’m happy people voted me in,” he said. “Hopefully, (over) the next three years I will prove to be as good as the last time.”

Murray Clark, the only candidate for commissioner of trust funds, earned 190 votes for a three-year term. There were 19 blanks and no write-ins.

Samuel Goodwin, the candidate for constable, earned 172 votes for a three-year term. There were 37 blanks and no write-ins.

Paul Bresnahan earned 185 votes for three-year spot on the Board of Assessors. There were 24 blanks and no write-ins.

Eric Herbert earned 173 votes for park commissioner. Jason Mayo earned the same. There were 72 blanks and no write-ins. Each was for a three-year term.

Geoffrey Tillotson earned 169 votes for a seat the Planning Board. There were no write-ins and 40 blanks. Tillotson is a new Ayer resident, and this was his first election in town. This was for a two-year term.

Richard Roper earned 144 votes for the Planning Board, and Jennifer Gibbons earned 185. There were no write-ins and 89 blanks. Each were for three-year terms.

Mary Spinner earned 162 votes for the Board of Health. There were no write-ins and 47 blanks. This was for a three-year term.

Debra Faust-Clancy won 73 votes in a write-in campaign to earn a three-year seat on the Library Trustees. There were six (scatterings) write-ins, and there were 130 blanks.

Dan Gleason earned 178 votes for a three-year term on the School Committee. There were no write-ins and 31 blanks.

Janet Providakes earned 184 votes for a five-year term on the Housing Authority. There were no write-ins and 25 blanks.

Follow Jon on Twitter and Tout: @JonBishopNP.