SHIRLEY — Incumbent Constable James Mickel, a former Shirley police officer, won the day in the only contested race in the annual town election with 229 votes. Challenger Patricia Krauchune received 126 votes.

Other incumbents running in Tuesday’s election for selectman and School Committee faced no challengers, nor did the sole candidate for town moderator.

There were no ballot questions.

But Town Clerk Amy MacDougall said she anticipated a long night.

Citing open seats on the Planning Board and Recreation Commission, for which nobody took out nomination papers, MacDougall said she expected write-ins, prolonging the process for election workers hand-counting ballots after the polls closed at 8 p.m.

Outside, two candidates stood by their signs on the green as a chilly mist began to fall.

They’d both been there since the polls opened at 7 a.m., according to first-time moderator candidate and former Selectman Enrico Cappucci.

He and Selectman Robert Prescott agreed that being there on Election Day was “the right thing to do,” Cappucci said, even though both were running unopposed.

Other results:

Turnout: 397, or 9.9 percent of the town’s 4008 registered voters cast ballots.

Selectmen: The sole candidate for Board of Selectmen was incumbent Robert Prescott Jr., who served out an unexpired one-year term before running for a full, three-year term.

Prescott received 298 votes.

Board of Assessors: Paulette Arakelian ran unopposed for re-election to the Board of Assessors. She received 293 votes.

Board of Health: Longtime Board of Health member Donald Farrar, Jr., who is also the town’s building inspector and facilities director, received 303 votes to serve another three-year term. He was the only candidate.

Library Trustees: Nobody took out papers to run for two open three-year terms as Library Trustee. Two write-in candidates were chosen to fill the seats: Judy Stanislaw, with 18 votes and Charlie Waite, with 14 votes.

Moderator: Enrico Cappucci, the only candidate for Town Moderator, received 267 votes.

Planning Board: An open five-year term remains unfilled, with a five-way tie of one vote each. The four-year unexpired term goes to incumbent John Bresnahan with 298 votes.

Recreation Commission: Incumbent Linda Cournoyer was the only candidate for a three-year term. She received 319 votes. Keith Begun, with 15 votes, was the write-in winner for a two-year, unexpired term. On another write-in, Begun also received 8 votes to serve a two-year unexpired term.

School Committee: Incumbent Joyce Reischutz retained her seat on the Regional School Committee, with 279 votes.

Sewer Commission: Paul Wilson received 301 votes to serve a three-year term.

War Memorial Trustees: Richard Noll was re-elected to serve a three-year term as Veteran War Memorial Trustee with 303 votes. Allen Flagg received five votes to fill the unexpired three-year veteran’s term.

Harold Smith received 307 votes for the non-veteran seat.

The rest were blanks and other write-ins.