Skip to content




Principal Christine Battye of North Middlesex Regional High School today announced the names of Steering Committee members who will direct the school’s efforts during its self-study and the accreditation by the Commission on Public Secondary Schools of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

The Committee will be co-chaired by Lisa Harris and Loren Messina, faculty members at North Middlesex Regional High School.

The other members of the Steering Committee are: Beth Baldarelli, department chair, special education; Christine Battye, principal; Erik Dellasanta, department chair, health, science and engineering; Kathryn Guziejka, department chair, culture and humanities; Ed Logiudice, department chair, math and business technology; Sharon Logiudice, department chair, global arts and communication; Laurie Smith, department chair, guidance.

NEASC membership requires that a school undergo a self-study and formal evaluation at least once every 10 years. The Steering Committee’s responsibilities will include coordinating a schedule of events for the school’s self-study, collecting reports from various subcommittees, and making necessary preparations for the evaluation committee’s visit.

According to Lisa Harris, “The self-study will include the completion of a comprehensive assessment of teaching and learning and the support of teaching and learning. The focus of the evaluation visit will be to determine the extent to which our programs and services carry out the school’s core values and beliefs about student learning for student and meet the commission’s standards for accreditation.”

North Middlesex Regional High School was last accredited in 2003 and has maintained continued accreditation since it was awarded NEASC membership in 1961. The next accreditation by a commission visiting committee will be conducted in the fall of 2013.

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges is a voluntary membership organization of more than 2,000 public schools, colleges and universities, independent schools, and vocational, technical and career institutions. Of these, approximately 650 schools have been accredited through the association’s Commission on Public Secondary Schools. The commission works with individual institutions to improve the quality of education at all levels through a continuous process of evaluation and accreditation.

Join the Conversation

We invite you to use our commenting platform to engage in insightful conversations about issues in our community. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable to us, and to disclose any information necessary to satisfy the law, regulation, or government request. We might permanently block any user who abuses these conditions.