Skip to content




PEPPERELL — One of the town’s two open seats on the North Middlesex Regional School Committee was a write-in battleground during elections Monday.

It was write-in Sky Minckler who took the second seat with 245, taking 109 more than write-in Anne Adams. Incumbent Jonna Clermont, a candidate who appeared on the ballot, received 353 votes to defend her seat. Just over seven percent of the 7,868 registered voters came out to the polls with a total of 576 ballots being cast.

Minckler and Adams were camped outside the Varnum Brook Middle School gymnasium, the last attempt to remind voters of their respective campaigns. Over the last several weeks, both had been spreading the word of their intended candidacies.

Citizens voted 367-146 to support Question 1, which was the creation of the committee and then appointed eight members to it.

The nine appointees are Douglas Adams, Caroline Ahdab, Judy Dalton, Christopher DeSimone, Lisa Ferolito, Michael Hartnett, Joseph Sergi, Peter Shattuck and Marcia Zaniboni. Each received between 312 and 351 votes.

The group has 18 months to craft a new document to dictate the make up of town government, which is currently operated by state rules by a system of by-laws. They include issues like the number of selectmen, length of terms for officials, which positions are appointed versus elected, the powers and responsibilities of the town administrator and more.

To start, the group will review charters of neighboring communities. A draft will then go to selectmen and a townwide vote for approval.

Funding for a new ambulance was also approved by 152 votes. A five-year debt exclusion will be used to pay for the $165,000 vehicle, a 2012 Chevy 4500 that has been ordered, according to Fire Chief Toby Tyler, and should be in service around the end of May or beginning of June.

Using an average property value assessed at $300,000, the vehicle will add $8 to the tax bill of an average home over five years.

Incumbent Chairwoman of the Recreation Commission Leigh Ann Colvin was elected to her first full term after a mid-term appointment last fall. Other new faces on the Recreation commission are Terrence Dineen and Timothy Doyle.

Selectmen Michael Green was elected to his second term. Longtime Treasurer and Tax Collector Michael Hartnett was also re-elected.

Other unopposed, elected candidates were Board of Assessors member Jon Kaiser, Board of Health member John Marriner, Housing Authority member James Triehy, Library Trustees Board members Mary Campano and Molly Kimball, Planning Board member Albert Patenaude Jr., and Tree Warden Peter Shattuck.

Follow Luke Steere at