AYER — As of Feb. 3, nomination papers are available from the Ayer town clerk’s office for the boards, commissions and positions listed below. The last day to request papers is Friday, March 4,at 5 p.m.

Nomination papers must be returned to the town clerk’s office with 26 signatures from certified registered Ayer voters by Monday, March 7, at 5 p.m.

Last day to register to vote for either the town election or the annual Town Meeting is Tuesday, April 5, at 8 p.m. at the town clerk’s office.

The town election is Monday, April 25. Polls open in the Great Hall of Ayer Town Hall from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The annual Town Meeting is Monday, May 9, at 7 p.m. at Ayer High School auditorium.



BOARD OF ASSESSORS — One three-year term, and one one-year term available (three-member board)

Edward Cornellier (incumbent)

Paul Bresnahan, who’s serving on the Board of Assessors via appointment by the Board of Selectmen until the town election, has pulled papers for the one-year term.

AYER SHIRLEY REGIONAL SCHOOL COMMITTEE — One three-year term available (three Ayer reps. and three Shirley reps. on the six member board)

Brenda Magno (incumbent)

BOARD OF HEALTH — One three-year term available (three-member board)

Marilyn C. McMillan (incumbent)

COMMISSIONER OF TRUST FUNDS — One three-year term available (three-member board)

Francis Callahan (incumbent)

CONSTABLE — One three-year term available (There are currently three elected constables)

John J. Cerulli (incumbent)

John Cerulli, Bertrand Kushinsky and Richard Skoczylas have pulled papers for this post. Skoczylas has returned the necessary signatures to make the ballot.

HOUSING AUTHORITY — One five-year term available (five-member board)

Karin D. Dynice-Swanfeldt (incumbent)

LIBRARY TRUSTEES — One three-year term available (two elected of eight-member board, others permanent)

Louise A. Bresnahan (incumbent)

PARK COMMISSION — Two three-year terms available (five-member board)

Peter P. Page (incumbent)

Timothy S. Taylor (incumbent)

PLANNING BOARD — one five-year term, one four-year term, and one two-year term available (five-member board)

Steven C. Wentzel (incumbent)

BOARD OF SELECTMEN — Two three-year terms available (five member board)

James M. Fay (incumbent)

Three candidates have pulled nomination papers for the two selectmen seats available: Pauline Conley, James Fay (incumbent), and Jesse Reich.

TAX COLLECTOR — One three-year term available

John Canney II (incumbent)

TOWN CLERK — One three-year term available

John Canney II (incumbent)

TREE WARDEN — One three-year term available

Mark A. Dixon (incumbent).