Skip to content




Staff Writer

PEPPERELL — Selectmen have fleshed out the membership of the Town Administrator Search Committee by selecting six names from a list of interested residents and officials.

The committee will address a replacement for town administrator Robert Hanson, whose retirement is expected at the end of the fiscal year.

Committee membership includes:

* Judy Dalton — A long-time resident and former selectman (1980-1986), whose experience includes the Personnel Board, president of the Garden Club, PTA secretary, volunteer school aide, Den Mother, Brownie leader, assistant Little League coach, treasurer of Pop Warner Football, Booster Club member and volunteer.

“Her knowledge and background would be very helpful,” Selectman Patrick McNabb said when nominating Dalton.

* Richard Potts — A high honors graduate of Princeton University with a bachelor’s degree and two master’s degrees in the fields of civil engineering, applied science and structural mechanics who worked as principal investigator and research engineer for MIT, Computer Corp. of America, and Arthur D. Little.

“He is dedicated to due diligence and has shown commitment through a variety of initiatives. He’ll do good work with discovery of all facts,” Selectman Joe Sergi said when nominating Potts.

* P. Derek Ten Broeck — Past president of the Groton-Pepperell Rotary Club, former chairman of the Recreation Commission who has worked with Parks and Recreation for the past 10 years.

“He is involved with a host of other committees. I know him. He understands what we need,” Selectmen Chairman Lyndon Johnson said when nominating Ten Broeck.

* Michael Hartnett — Town treasurer/tax collector. Nominated by McNabb.

* Sharon Mercurio — Council on Aging director. Nominated by McNabb, who said, “She’ll do a great job.”

* Peter Shattuck Sr. — Twenty-one year town employee, 31-year firefighter (currently deputy fire chief) and lifelong resident. He is the current highway superintendent and tree warden.

“He holds several important positions in town and needs to work with the administrator. He will make sure the qualifications are there,” Johnson said when nominating Shattuck.

* Patrick McNabb — volunteered as the Board of Selectmen’s representative, seconded by Sergi. Johnson had also expressed interest.

“Just being on the board speaks to the position. It would be great to have either one,” Sergi said. “It truly will set the course of where Pepperell will go in the next five to 10 years.

“(McNabb) has shown his commitment and passion, not that you don’t,” Sergi said to Johnson.

Finance Committee member Stephanie Cronin had applied but a town bylaw prevents members of that committee from participating in anything else except the Capital Outlay Committee and the Personnel Board.

Alan Wilayto and Joseph Hallissey had also applied, but their Citizen Activity Forms had arrived after the deadline.