Skip to content





GROTON — With the new year comes news from the town clerk’s office that the annual town meeting for 2007 has been scheduled for April 30 and the town election for May 22.

A date of May 7 has also been set for a special town meeting.

Town clerk Onorina Maloney has announced that nomination forms for town officials seeking reelection, as well as other residents interested in running for office, will be available starting on Feb. 6.

By law, those interested in having their name placed on the ballot on election day must first collect the signatures of at least 46 registered voters in town. The signature requirement applies both to incumbents and newcomers and must be returned with nomination papers for certification to the Board of Registrars at the town clerk’s office by 5 p.m. on April 3.

Open seats on various boards and committees include two seats of three-year terms each on the Board of Selectmen, currently held by Martins Pond Road resident Joshua Degen and Gratuity Road resident Jack Saball; two seats of three years each on the Groton-Dunstable Regional School Committee, currently occupied by Reedy Meadow Road resident Paul Funch and Crosswinds Drive resident Karen Lofgren; two seats of three years each on the Planning Board, currently occupied by Fox Run resident George Barringer Jr. and Martins Pond Road resident Joshua Degen; and one three-year position on the Board of Health, currently held by Townsend Road resident Robert Hanninen.

Also open are seats on the Board of Assessors with one three-year term currently occupied by West Street resident Edward Kopec; the Commissioner of Trust Funds with one three-year term currently occupied by Pleasant Street resident Patricia Hartvigsen; the Housing Authority with one five-year term currently occupied by Old Ayer Road resident Alicia Hersey; the Sewer Commission with one three-year term currently occupied by Longley Road resident James Gmeiner; the Water Commission with one three-year seat currently occupied by Throne Hill Road resident Michael Brady; the Electric Light Commission with one three-year seat currently occupied by Bridge Street resident Rodney Hersh; and a one-year term for Tree Warden currently filled by Chicopee Row resident (Robert) Thomas Delaney.

Other seats open to challenge include two seats of three year each on the Park Commission currently occupied by Raddin Road resident Donald Black and Whitman Road resident Jeffrey Ohringer; two seats of three-year terms on the Trustees of the Groton Public Library presently occupied by Squannacook Drive resident Brian Mullins and West Street resident Mark Gerath; and three constables of three years each, now held by Kemp Street resident Brian Downes, Martins Pond Road resident William Grennell, and Pepperell Road resident George Moore Jr.

To help guide prospective candidates, the town clerk’s office will make available information from the state’s Office of Campaign and Political Finance (OCPF) regarding campaign finance regulations and practices. Candidates are reminded that before incurring any expenses or receiving any campaign funds they must first file a Statement of Organization.

Nomination papers can be obtained from the town clerk during business hours on Mondays between 8:30 a.m. and 7 p.m., Tuesdays through Thursdays between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Fridays between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., and on the first and third Saturdays of each month from 9 a.m. to noon.

For residents who wish to cast ballots in the upcoming election, a special voter registration session will be held at the town clerk’s Office on April 10 between the hours of 9 a.m. and 8 p.m. to register in time for the Annual Town Election.

The deadline for registering to vote at the annual election and town meeting is April 10 while that for special town meeting is April 27.

In order to vote on election day, residents living in precinct 1 must cast their ballots at the Senior Center located at 163 West Main Street in Groton and those who reside in precincts 2 and 3 must do so at the Middle School North building located at 346 Main Street. Residents must present some kind of personal identification in order to vote.

Town Meeting will be held at the performing arts center at the Groton-Dunstable Middle School auditorium located at 344 Main Street in Groton.

For more information, residents may contact the town clerk by telephone at (978) 448-1100 or by e-mail at

Join the Conversation

We invite you to use our commenting platform to engage in insightful conversations about issues in our community. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable to us, and to disclose any information necessary to satisfy the law, regulation, or government request. We might permanently block any user who abuses these conditions.