Seventeen “Top Docs” honored at Southern NH Medical Center


NASHUA — Seventeen physicians affiliated with Southern New Hampshire Medical Center were honored by their peers as “2006 Top Docs” in the April issue of New Hampshire Magazine. These physicians received the most votes in their specialties by their colleagues across the state.

In addition this year, a Hall of Fame category was introduced to honor those physicians who have been recognized by their peers for five years in a row. Nashua urologist John J. Janeiro, MD, was one of the four 2006 Hall of Fame recipients.

“We are pleased to be affiliated with so many of the best doctors in the state,” said Tom Wilhelmsen, president and CEO of Southern New Hampshire Medical Center. “It means that we can offer a higher level of care to the southern New Hampshire area.”

The 2006 “Top Docs” include:

John J. Janeiro, MD, Urology

Robert Posnick, MD, Dermatology

Joseph Leahy, DO, Emergency Care

Timothy Scherer, MD, Gastroenterology

Kenneth Dolkart, MD, Geriatrics

Colleen Guiry, MD, Family Practice

Robert Zinnes, MD, Family Practice

Jonathan Thyng, MD, Family Practice

Cynthia Rasmussen, MD, Gynecology

Michael Strampfer, MD, Infectious Diseases

Charles Kert, MD, Nephrology

Karen Maynard, MD, Obstetrics

William Goodman, MD, Pulmonology

Santhram Yadati, MD, Psychiatry

Edward Kois, MD, Rehabilitation/Physical Medicine

James Vailas, MD, Sports Medicine

N. Ross Jenkins, MD, Neurosurgery

The seventh-annual “Top Docs” issue hit the newsstands in late March, with 48 physicians honored in 42 specialties. Balloting for the annual “Top Docs” survey took place in February, with voting forms sent by New Hampshire Magazine to all 3,419 licensed physicians in the state. Nearly 395 physicians responded.