SHIRLEY — The town will hold its annual election at the town offices on Tuesday, May 9. Papers have been returned to the town clerk’s office by 14 Shirley residents.

On this year’s ballot, Board of Selectmen incumbent Leonardo “Chip” Guercio will run for a successive three-year term.

Other incumbents running for additional three-year terms are Constable Robert Hippler, Board of Health member Jacqueline Esielionis, library trustees Judy Stanislaw and Susan Johnston, Board of Assessors member Joseph Saball and Sewer Commission member Robert Schuler.

Four candidates will appear on the ballot for two positions expiring on the School Committee, each with a three-year term. Robert Prescott and Donald Parker have turned in papers to appear on the ballot once again. Christine House and Cliff Bailey also have publicly announced their intent to run for the School Committee seats in this year’s election.

The Planning Board has two open seats, one of which is a two-year unexpired term, due to the resignation of Lewis Nathan.

The second position, held by James Ordile, is a five-year term. Neal Guthrie will be on the ballot running for that position, leaving one remaining seat. Since no one to turned in papers for the spot by the March 21 deadline, the Planning Board vacancy can be filled by a write-in.

In addition, Frederick Gibbons will run for a one-year, unexpired term on the Recreation Commission.

Ronald Marchetti is also running for a one-year, unexpired term on the Board of Assessors previously held by David Swain.

Terms are also expiring for War Memorial trustees Donald Sidilau and Karl McCoon. Papers have not been turned in by any veterans to fill the three-year positions.

The last day to register to vote or change party affiliation for the town election is April 19.