HARVARD — A Common History, the spring exhibit at the Historical Society, will open on April 9, from 2 to 4 p.m., at the Meeting House. The exhibit explores the history of the Center Village including buildings, people, village activities and historical factors that influenced the growth of the Common area.
Objects, photographs, maps and other items from the Society’s extensive collections show how Harvard residents have shaped the village over the past several years. Drawings by Harvard Elementary School students are included in the panorama of village images.
Among many other things, you will discover that our first Town Hall still exists and is lived in today, there was a set of stocks on the Common and a roller-skating rink was part of Harvard Center. The exhibit will also explore how citizen choices today might affect the future of the Village Center tomorrow.
Refreshments will be served at this free event. The exhibit’s regular hours are Thursdays, from 7 to 9 p.m., and Sundays, from 2 to 4 p.m., except on Easter.
In connection with the exhibit, the society will host three Thursday programs in April. On April 13, Betty Marr will share memories of life in Harvard in the 1950’s and ‘60’s. On April 20, Dorothy Andrews will present a talk and slide show entitled, “Harvard: From Farming Community to Suburbia.” On April 27, Jeff Harris will talk about the history of the Harvard Postal Service.
All programs are to be held at the Meeting House, 215 Still River Rd.