TOWNSEND -- The Friends of the Townsend Seniors is looking for that outstanding individual in the Townsend community who has given of himself or herself to the growth and betterment of the town of Townsend.

Friends President Donna Miller explains that candidates for the annual William E. May Endowment Fund Award will be well respected and will have demonstrated through actions and deeds a keen interest in the affairs and needs of both the town of Townsend and the senior citizens of Townsend.

Past award-winners include William E. May; Dr. Lawrence Churchville, Jr.; Roy and Nancy Shepherd; Jim Clish and Ethel Amiro; Bob Tumber; Ed and Mary West; Hirk and Louise Fortin; Connie Giles; Terry McNabb; Lt. David Profit and Russ Moore.

If someone was nominated in the past and not selected, please consider re-submitting that individual for consideration.

Nomination forms are available at the Senior Center, McNabb's Pharmacy and the Town Clerk's office or by calling Susan Gerken, 978-597-8862.

Nomination forms should be placed in a sealed envelope, marked "William E. May Nomination" and mailed to Friends of Townsend Seniors, P.O. Box 972, Townsend, MA 01469 or dropped off at the Senior Center.

They must be received by June 7.