AYER -- The town election is Monday, April 22. Already more than a dozen candidates have emerged for townwide office.

As of Tuesday, Feb. 5, at noon, these are the names of candidates for townwide office, with an "*" notation next to their name if they've already returned the requisite number of signatures necessary to secure a spot on the ballot in their respective races. Names are listed in order of logging at the town clerks' office, where nomination papers are both pulled and received.

M. Stephanie Gintner - treasurer; Frank Frederick Maxant - selectman; Denis J. Callahan * - assessor; Sarah A. Gibbons * - park commissioner; Heather L. Hasz - Board of Health; Debbie Pedrazzi * - library trustee; James D. Stephen * - commissioner of trust funds; Patrick William Kelly - Ayer-Shirley Regional School Committee; Thomas P. Horgan Jr. * - moderator; Clark W. Paige - constable; Glen LaPierre - treasurer; Mark W. Coulter - selectman; Jane L. Morriss - selectman; and Pamela L. Papineau - Board of Health.

The following offices will be on the ballot: assessor (three-year term), Board of Health (two one-year and one three-year term available), commissioner of trust funds (three-year term), constable (three-year term), Housing Authority (five-year term), library trustee (three-year term), and moderator (three-year term).

Also: park commissioner (three-year term), Planning Board (five-year term), Regional School Committee (three-year term), selectman (three-year term) and treasurer (three-year term).


The last day to request nomination papers is Friday, March 1, at 5 p.m. The last day to submit completed nomination papers is Monday, March 4, at 5 p.m. Nomination papers are requested and submitted to the Ayer town clerk's office, first floor of Ayer Town Hall, 1 Main St., from 8:30 a.m. till 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The last day to register to vote for the April 22 town election is Tuesday, April 2. The town clerk's office will be open to register voters on April 2 from 8:30 a.m. till 8 p.m.

Follow Mary Arata at twitter.com/maryearata.