HARVARD -- Tuesday afternoon at 5 p.m., the deadline closed for candidate's names to appear on the printed Harvard Town Election ballot.

The two incumbent selectmen with expiring terms -- Tim Clark and Bill Johnson -- have both opted against re-election runs. This despite the fact that both men were nominated for fresh three-year terms at the March 2 Town Caucus.

Instead, three names will be on the ballot for the two available seats: Former Selectman Leo Blair, political newcomer Don Graham and former School Committee member Stuart Sklar. Graham and Sklar accepted their nomination at caucus, while Blair filed his nomination signatures Tuesday afternoon.

Johnson's name will appear on the ballot as one of two candidates seeking a one-year term on the Planning Board. Johnson faces off against James Breslauer.

In the race for a three-year term on the Planning Board, both Christopher Ashley and Kara Minar have secured ballot positions. (Though nominated at Caucus, Rich Marcello did not sign to accept his nomination).

Most incumbents appear unchallenged on the ballot. Write in campaigns remain a final available route for those wishing to challenge the printed names in the various races.

On the printed ballot, incumbent Kirsten Wright alone will appear for the one available school committee seat available (which carries a three- year term). Town Moderator Bob Eubank appears unchallenged for a repeat one year term. Cemetery Commissioner Bruce Dolimont is seeking a repeat three-year term without a named challenger.


Also without challenge are: incumbent Board of Health member Lorin Johnson (three-year term), Tree Warden Christian Bilodeau (one-year term), and Pat Jennings and Sheila Simollardes for Trustees of the Warner Free Lecture Society (three-year terms each).

Incumbent Didi Chadran secured a ballot spot for a fresh three year term on the Community Preservation Committee (CPC), while Elizabeth Williams made the ballot for a one year CPC term.

Incumbent Marty Green and Joe Newpol are running for two available seats on the Harvard Library Board of Trustees (three year terms each). Incumbent Peter Jackson did not seek nomination for a successive term.

Joseph Schmidt submitted nomination papers after the Caucus to run for an available three-year term on the Parks and Recreation Committee. No name will appear on the printed ballot for an available two-year term on the Park and Recreation Committee.

Candidates wishing to withdraw their name from the printed ballot must contact Town Clerk Janet Vellante by 4 p.m. on Thursday, March 28.

The Town Election is scheduled for Tuesday, April 30 and will coincide with the state primary election in the race to succeed former U.S. Sen. John Kerry.

Follow Mary Arata at twitter.com/maryearata.