On Sunday, Sept. 8, residents from local towns will walk up to 26.2 miles along the historic Boston Marathon® route in the 25th anniversary of the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk presented by Hyundai.

They will be among the 8,500 walkers expected to participate with the collective goal of raising more than $7 million to support lifesaving adult and pediatric patient care and cancer research at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and The Jimmy Fund.

Since its inception in 1989, the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk has raised nearly $87 million to conquer all types of cancer. It is the largest one-day participatory event benefiting the Jimmy Fund and Dana-Farber and raises the most money of any single-day walk in the nation. The Boston Athletic Association has proudly supported the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk for the past 25 years.

Participants may choose to walk one of four routes: the entire 26.2-mile Hopkinton to Boston route, the 13.1-mile Babson to Boston route, the 5-mile Boston College route, or the 3-mile route from Dana-Farber Cancer Institute to the Copley Square Finish. Those unable to participate on event day can become "Virtual Walkers" and fundraise for the event.

Walkers begin in Hopkinton between 5:30-7:30 a.m.; at Babson College between 8:30-10:30 a.m.; at Boston College between 10 a.m. and noon; and from Dana-Farber at 1:45 p.m.


The Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk finishes at Copley Square in Boston, where walkers can celebrate completing the course and enjoy complimentary food, beverages, a speaking program, and entertainment.

All walkers must raise a minimum of $300, and walkers 12 years old and younger have a fundraising minimum of $100. Pacesetters are extraordinary fundraisers who raise $1,500 or more.

To register for the 25th anniversary of the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk, to support a walker, or to volunteer, visit www.JimmyFundWalk.org or call 866-531-9255. Registrants can enter the discount code NEWS for $5 off the registration fee.

Local walkers:

AYER: Simon Braune, Constance Brown.

GROTON: Generoso Polcar, Dawn Priest, Amy Sturm.

HARVARD: Amy Bassage, Austin Rotker, Victoria Roussel.

PEPPERELL: Cheryl Jackson-Fogarty, Jason Lampron, Kathryn Low, Kimberly Simonich.

SHIRLEY: Kat Herrera, Tina Landry.

TOWNSEND: Mary Lee Ridings, Jayne Roose, Virginia Spinney, Lauren Spinney, Jean Staples.